Gym, April 7th

Again, I write to you from the parking lot of my gym. I’m sorry if this kind of post is boring (I suspect it is), but it seems to really help me to go into the gym with a publicly announced plan. And I need help today. I left my homework too long and it’s starting to eat away at me. I had spring break to do it, but all I wanted to do that whole week was blog, read blogs and comment on blogs. It was maybe not as healthy as I like to tell myself it is.

Anyway, today I’m feeling pretty blah. I just feel like I can’t cope with the responsibility of being an adult. I know it’s rediculous, because I actually have very few, minor responsibilities. Also, I’m not sure whether my motives for going to the gym are pure. Is this another way of avoiding my overwhelming, confusing home mwork? Do I actually have time to be here? The homework is due tomorrow and I have a 7 pm class tonight, so I won’t feel like working on it when I get home. That means I don’t have a lot of extra time to borrow. It’s making me a little sick.

Anyway, pure or not, I’m going to be in the gym in a few minutes, so now I decide what to do.

1. Stretch. I found a picture online that I will use as my guide.

2. Treadmill. Walk 2 min at 2.8 and 3 min at 3.0 (5 min walking), run 10 min at 3.2, walk 5 min at 3.0, run 5 minutes at 3.1, cool down 5 minutes. I know that’s not a lot of impressive speed, but it’s what I feel ill be able to do. And usually the second run is only 2 minutes, so as far as I’m concerned, I’m pushing myself.

3. Do the whole ab circuit, even the boring parts.

4. Do all the arm machines at the front of the gym. Keep notes.

5. Do the seated leg press. Keep notes.

Wish me luck. If you comment quickly, you might even positively influence my workout!

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Sorry I didn’t update this yesterday, I realized I had to eat and get ready for class, leaving no time. I didn’t do everything I said I’d do. In fact, I didn’t do a single thing quite the way I described. I only did half the stretches before someone stationed herself next to me, making me feel too uncomfortable. I only did the biceps machine for arms. I didn’t do the seated leg press. What I did do is RUN. I ran for TWENTY MINUTES! I did. I just kept going. Way longer than I thought I could. And it wasn’t unpleasant! I actually started to kind of like it. I might have been able to go longer, but I think I psyched myself out.

Really, despite skipping things, I’m very happy with how I did. Why didn’t I do the rest? Because I was sweaty and realized I needed time for a shower as well as dinner before class, and therefore had to go home. But today my gym time will be after class. I’m excited to see if I can run 20 minutes again, and do all the things I missed yesterday! We’ll see

2 thoughts on “Gym, April 7th

  1. Don’t feel bad about procrastination, everyone does it at one point. Just make a plan from here..This hour/day I’ll do X amount of HW, until it’s gone. Going to the gym is better than sitting at home fretting over the fact that you’re still not doing your HW :p Who knows, maybe the endorphins will give you a push to get it done 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

